Classical, Historical, Light, World Music, Jazz and Entertainment

Classical, Historical, Light, World Music, Jazz and Entertainment


You can find this track on the following CD:
The Golden Age of Light Music: Non-Stop To Nowhere

ArtNr. GLCD 5206

Light Music

Price GBP 8,75 / USD

Medium: CD 
Release Date: 15.05.2013

Although many Guild Light Music collections have a particular theme, every so often listeners are offered a very eclectic mix, full of contrasts and different musical textures. The title of this collection really says it all: simply an assortment of all kinds of Light Music, with a good proportion of it included at the special request of music lovers who have purchased previous CDs in this long running series. American conductors are strongly featured: Alfred Newman, Florian Zabach, Percy Faith, Mitchell Ayres, Joe Reisman, the Spencer-Hagen Orchestra and George Siravo confirm the depth of light music-making in the USA over fifty years ago. The title track is by the English composer Tony Hatch, who was on the threshold of a distinguished international career, initially helped by writing hit songs for Petula Clark then eventually reaching his composing pinnacle with the theme tune for ?Neighbours?.


Tracklist and soundclips:
Title Composer Artist Time Play
01 On The Side Of The Angels (from the show 'Fiorello') Sheldon Harnick, Jerry Bock, arr. Alfred Newman ALFRED NEWMAN AND HIS ORCHESTRA 3:18
03 Poor Butterfly Raymond Hubbell, John Golden, arr. Philip Green PHILIP GREEN AND HIS ORCHESTRA 3:13
04 The Four Horsemen Of The Apocalypse' - Love Theme from the film Andre Previn, arr. Percy Faith PERCY FAITH AND HIS ORCHESTRA 3:38
05 Ballad Of The Sea Joe Reisman, arr. Walter Landauer RAWICZ AND LANDAUER at two pianos with Orchestra and Chorus conducted by ROBERT FARNON 2:53
06 Non-Stop To Nowhere Mark Anthony, real name Tony Hatch THE PICCADILLY STRINGS 2:13
07 The Awakening Of Pedro Mitchell Ayres, Danny Hurd MITCHELL AYRES AND HIS ORCHESTRA 2:46
08 Antilles Jacques La Rue, Jean Paul Rene Guilbert JOE REISMAN AND HIS ORCHESTRA 2:09
09 Desiree James Kriegsmann, arr. Bruce Campbell BRUCE CAMPBELL AND HIS ORCHESTRA (?Coronet Orchestra' on disc label) 2:56
10 Grasshopper Earle H. Hagen, Herbert Spencer THE SPENCER-HAGEN ORCHESTRA 2:24
11 Piccadilly Hoe-Down Chris Armstrong, real name Ray Martin RAY MARTIN AND HIS CONCERT ORCHESTRA 2:03
12 Badinage Roger Roger ROGER ROGER Conducting THE MODE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA 2:30
13 Hey! Taxi George Siravo GEORGE SIRAVO AND HIS ORCHESTRA 2:09
15 Candy Floss Peter Dennis, real name Dennis Alfred Berry DOLF VAN DER LINDEN AND HIS ORCHESTRA (?Harmonic Orchestra conducted by David Johnson' on disc label) 3:01
16 Metropolitan March Roger Barsotti QUEEN'S HALL LIGHT ORCHESTRA Conducted by SIDNEY TORCH 2:43
17 Frantic Fiddles Johnny Gregory WESTWAY STUDIO ORCHESTRA 2:05
18 Folies Parade Cyril Watters LANSDOWNE LIGHT ORCHESTRA 2:41
19 Twinkle Toes Van Phillips STUTTGART RADIO ORCHESTRA Conducted by KURT REHFELD (?Lansdowne Light Orchestra' on disc label) 2:35
20 Pennsylvania Dutch Dolf van der Linden SYMPHONIA ORCHESTRA Conducted by LUDO PHILIPP 2:54
21 Jamboree Clive Richardson QUEEN'S HALL LIGHT ORCHESTRA Conducted by ROBERT FARNON 2:45
22 Starlight Special Alan Perry, real name Ernest Tomlinson NEW CENTURY ORCHESTRA Conducted by ERICH B?RSCHEL 2:38
23 Ten To One Arnold Steck, real name Leslie Statham DANISH STATE RADIO ORCHESTRA Conducted by ROBERT FARNON 2:56
24 Down Channel: Nautical Overture Alec Rowley LONDON PROMENADE ORCHESTRA Conducted by WALTER COLLINS 2:48
25 Toward Adventure Gilbert Vinter STUTTGART RADIO ORCHESTRA Conducted by KURT REHFELD (?Lansdowne Light Orchestra' on disc label) 2:23
26 All The Fun Of The Fair (from 'Rustic Revels' Suite) Percy Fletcher QUEEN'S HALL LIGHT ORCHESTRA Conducted by CHARLES WILLIAMS 2:31
Similar CD's
Shopping Cart
TOSCANINI - Grieg - TOSCANINI - Grieg - Sibelius - Franck - Ravel
The Golden Age of The Golden Age of Light Music: The 1930s
The Golden Age of The Golden Age of Light Music: British Cinema &
Our Labels
Guild Historical
Guild Light Music
Zah Zah

© 2022 Guild Music Limited. All rights reserved. Prices additional VAT/MwSt. and shipping costs.
Privacy Policy | Website Terms and Conditions | Disclaimer | GTB | Imprint | Webmaster